Why Van Dijk won UEFA men’s player of the year Award

Why Van Dijk won UEFA men’s player of the year Award

Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk  has won UEFA Men’s Player of the Year award on Thursday night, beating Messi and Ronaldo.

Van Dijk has been names the UEFA men’s player of the year after winning  PFA and Premier League player of the year last season.

Van Dijk was signed from Southampton in January 2018 for £75million (being the costliest defender at the time), and since then has helped Liverpool win the UEFA Champions league and also attain the highest ever points in a season for liverpool who finished second place behind Manchester city with 97 points.

At the  Monaco award ceremony which doubled as the Champions League draw, a jury comprising of 80 coaches that participated in the group stages of the 2018/19 UEFA Champions League voted for their best player. Also, coaches that participated in the Europa League voted along with 55 journalists selected by the European Sports Media (ESM) group.

Why PSG Rejected latest Barcelona offer for Neymar


UEFA has posted the reasonswhy he won the award. They said:

“Following Liverpool’s 2018 final defeat by Real Madrid, Van Dijk had every reason for nerves ahead of the 2019 decider, but his concentration did not waver.”

“He shut out the opposition and was named man of the match as his side edged out Tottenham Hotspur in Madrid.”

“Fearless since arriving from Southampton in January 2018, Van Dijk kept more clean sheets than any defender in Europe’s top five leagues in 2018/19.”

“While Liverpool fell narrowly short in the Premier League, his solid presence (and occasional goalscoring efforts) provided the platform for a sixth European Cup.”

The full results are seen below

1. Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool & Netherlands) – 305 points
2. Lionel Messi (Barcelona & Argentina) – 207 points
3. Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus & Portugal) – 74 points
4. Alisson (Liverpool & Brazil) – 57 points
5. Sadio Mané (Liverpool & Senegal) – 51 points
6. Mohamed Salah (Liverpool & Egypt) – 49 points
7. Eden Hazard (Chelsea/Real Madrid & Belgium) – 38 points
8.= Matthijs de Ligt (Ajax/Juventus & Netherlands) – 27 points
8.= Frenkie de Jong (Ajax/Barcelona & Netherlands) – 27 points
10. Raheem Sterling (Manchester City & England) – 12 points


Leave your predictions here